Arch Accreditation Info - Christopher C. Gibbs College of Architecture

Arch Accreditation Info

Accreditation Information

NAAB Statement on Accreditation:

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Oklahoma, Christopher C. Gibbs College of Architecture, Division of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

  • B. Arch. (150 credits for 4+ year degree)
  • M. Arch. (60-96 credits depending on program, 168 credits for accelerated)

We had a successful accreditation visit in Spring of 2023. Next visit for all architecture programs: 2031


Accreditation Conditions and Procedures

The following will assist in understanding the body of knowledge and skills that constitute a professional education in architecture:


Career Development Information

The following will help develop an understanding of the larger context for architecture education and the career pathways available to graduates of accredited degree programs:


Accreditation Documents

The following documents relate to the specific accreditation of the architecture degree programs at the University of Oklahoma:

Additional accreditation-related documents are available to the public by request to Mathew Stock (


Licensing Exam Pass Rates

The Architect Registration Examination (ARE) assesses a candidate’s knowledge, skills, and abilities and is used by all U.S. registration boards and the Canadian provincial architectural associations as the examination for those seeking architectural licensing.

Exam Pass Rates